The Department of Transport (DoT), Public Transport Victoria (PTV) and VicRoads came together as one new Department of Transport on 1 July 2019. On 1 January 2023, DoT was renamed the Department of Transport and Planning.

The staff, statutory functions and powers of PTV and VicRoads, excluding registration and licensing functions and some heavy vehicle functions, have been transferred or delegated to DTP under relevant statutory instruments under the Transport Integration Act 2010 and the Public Administration Act 2004.

Also on this page:

DTP works closely with the Major Transport Infrastructure Authority (MTIA) in delivering the major transport projects in planning and construction.

DTP and MTIA ensure major construction activities and disruptions are coordinated across the transport network, including plans to keep people moving through major works periods.

MTIA is comprised of the following project teams:

  • Level Crossing Removal Project
  • North East Link Project
  • West Gate Tunnel Project
  • Major Road Projects Victoria
  • Rail Projects Victoria

Secretary, Department of Transport and Planning

Paul Younis was appointed Secretary of the Department of Transport on 26 March 2019.

Mr Younis, who had been acting in the role since the Department was created on 1 January 2019, was Deputy Head of Transport for Victoria (2017-2019) where he steered the planning and coordination of key transport projects.

Originally from Victoria's south-west, Mr Younis has extensive experience in running regional and metropolitan councils and infrastructure projects.
The Secretary also holds the position of Head, Transport for Victoria - a statutory office established under the Transport Integration Act 2010.
The Head plays a key strategic role in ensuring Victoria’s growing transport system is integrated and coordinated.

View the Department of Transport and Planning organisational structure [PDF 168KB]

Our ministers

The Department of Transport and Planning supports and provides advice to four transport sector ministers. Visit the Victorian Government media centre for the latest transport media releases.

Hon Jacinta Allan MP
Deputy Premier
Minister for Transport and Infrastructure
Minister for the Suburban Rail Loop

Jacinta Allan 

Hon Ben Carroll MP
Minister for Public Transport

Ben Carroll 

Acts administered by the Minister for Public Transport 

Hon Melissa Horne MP
Minister for Ports and Freight
Minister for Roads and Road Safety

Melissa Horne 

Hon Sonya Kilkenny MP
Minister for Planning

Hon Sonya Kilkenny

Hon Danny Pearson
Assistant Treasurer
Minister for WorkSafe and the TAC

Danny Pearson


Parliamentary secretary

Josh Bull MP
Parliamentary Secretary for Level Crossing Removals
Parliamentary Secretary for Transport

Josh Bull MP